top of page

DIY Bird on Branch Wall Art

I originally posted this project on my Simply DIY Tumblr Blog.

This wall art is made out of toilet paper rolls and an old calendar that I had lying around. I made this last year. It is inspired by a post I saw on Pinterest.Here is how you can make this for yourself...

What you need:

  • Cardboard

  • Empty toilet paper rolls (A lot)

  • Scissors

  • Pencil

  • Ruler

  • Pictures of birds

  • Paper / tracing paper (If necessary)

  • Paint

  • Paint brush / sponge (Whichever you prefer)

  • Glue / double-sided tape (Preferably glue)

What to do:

  1. Trace the pictures of the birds onto cardboard (Use paper or tracing paper if necessary). I used cardboard from an old calendar in this. The crow and brown bird I used in this project come from pictures I found online.

  2. Once you have drawn your birds, paint them in the desired colours and then cut out the shapes once the paint dries.

  3. Flatten the toilet rolls and paint them and the cardboard in green and brown respectively. I painted only one side of both the cardboard and the toilet roll. However, you can paint both sides if you want to.

  4. Once the paint dries, cut the cardboard and toilet rolls into strips of 0.5" (1.27cm) in width. For the toilet rolls, this is the same as cutting each roll into 8 equal parts.

  5. Arrange the cardboard strips, cut toilet roll pieces and birds into the desired branch and leaf design. If needed, use scissors to stips to size.

  6. Now all that is needed is to glue all the pieces together. I used double sided tape to hold the different parts together. However, if you want the pieces to stay together permanently, I suggest you use glue.

bottom of page