top of page

DIY Jewelry Box

I made this for a friend. This was originally posted on my Tumblr blog. Here is how I made it: 

What you need:

  • A take out container (I used a container from Spur)

  • A large sheet of paper

  • Copy paper

  • Tape (double sided and one sided)

  • Bubble wrap

  • Patterns to draw on the box (Click here to see the pattern I used)

  • A marker.

  • A wet cloth (or paint brush)

  • Beads

  • Wire

  • Gut

What to do:

  1. Clean the take out container.

  2. Wrap the bubble wrap around the lid of the container using tape. This will not only make the lid soft, but give it more volume as well.

  3. Wrap the sides (both inside and outside) of the container up using a large sheet of paper and some tape. Make sure to wrap the paper around the lid (over the bubble wrap) as well.

  4. Draw a pattern on copy paper using some markers. Make sure that the surface area of the pattern is enough to fit both the lid and inside the box. You may have to draw the pattern on two separate sheets of paper, depending on the size of the container you use. The pattern I used was traced from a picture I found online.

  5. To make a washed out effect in the patterns, I used a wet paintbrush and went over the colored spots before they were completely dried. Be careful not to make the paper too we or else it will start to break.

  6. Wait for the paper to dry and cut out the pattern to fit the lid and the inside of the container.

  7. Glue the patterns onto the lid and inside of the container.

  8. Write/draw anything that you want to display on the inside lid of the jewelry box and glue it there (Optional). I decided to write my friend's name on the inside of the jewelry box to give a more personal touch. 

  9. To make the legs and handles of the jewelry box, use wire and gut to secure the beads to the desired areas.


bottom of page